After a flurry of last-minute nominations, it’s ‘game on’ for the healthy list of Mayoral, Council and Community Board candidates who have put their hands up to change the game this election.

Whakatāne District Council has confirmed the final list of candidates after being confirmed by Election Services. The full list is available at

A total of 61 nominations have been received for this election, a mix of both new and incumbent candidates.

Council’s ‘Be a Gamechanger / Auahatia ngā rā e tatū iho nei’ campaign challenged people from all walks of life to ‘Be a Gamechanger’; by standing for Council and local Community Boards in the upcoming Whakatāne District elections.

Governance Manager Cindy Butt is rapt with the number of people who have put themselves out there this election and turned their passion in to action. She says it’s now time for voters to listen to what it is each candidate is standing for and vote accordingly.

“In a time where many Councils are struggling to attract candidates, we are so encouraged to see in Whakatāne we’ve got a robust election on our hands.”

Cindy adds, “Our communities’ needs are diverse, and it’s vital our Council representatives reflect the ever-changing needs of the communities we serve. So, we’re thrilled to see they’ve heard our call, and that this year’s nominations sees a broad range of individuals who have taken up our challenge to e tū, stand up and shake up the game in 2022.”

Council is now encouraging residents and ratepayers to get involved in the campaign period and

change the game by voting.

“We know our communities are passionate about our slice of paradise and the decisions we as Council make on their behalf. So, if standing for Council wasn’t for you, you can still be a gamechanger by voting.” 

“Whakarongo mai – have a listen to what they have to say, these people could be the ones who make decisions on your behalf, so you want people that you trust and tautoko.” 

“Particularly with the introduction of Māori wards this year, it’s really important all residents pay attention to what the candidates have to say and know how to vote when the time comes.”

Enrolment has now closed and enrolled voters in the Whakatāne District can expect to receive their voting packs in the mail from Friday, 16 September, with voting closing at midday, Saturday, 8 October.

“But there’s absolutely still the opportunity to vote if you missed the enrolment deadline,” Cindy adds.

“You can cast what’s called a ‘Special Vote’. It’s an easy process and you can do it online by emailing or call Council on 07 306 0500 and we can guide you through it so you can change the game.”


  • Toni Boynton is elected unopposed in the Kapu te rangi Māori Ward.
  • As the number of candidates does not exceed the number of vacancies, Ken Bannan, Tina Barnett, James Goldsmith, Mere Kuia McLean, Irma Prentice and Ngapera Rangiaho have been elected as members of the Murupara Community Board.
  • As the number of candidates does not exceed the number of vacancies, Talei Bryant, Luke Ruiterman, Honey Thrupp and Diane Yalden have been elected as members of the Tāneatua Community Board. A by-election for the remaining two vacancies will be held on 17 February 2023. Should Talei Bryant be elected to Mayor or Council, this would create an additional vacancy in Tāneatua Community Board.