Results for the 2019-22 triennium Local Elections for Mayor, Council and Community Board have been finalised today following a tie in the Murupara-Galatea Ward of the Whakatāne District Council elections.

The final vote count showed that candidates Hinerangi Goodman and Alison Silcock had drawn with 262 votes each. Clause 58(5) of The Local Regulations Act 2001 states that the successful candidate will be decided by lot, and this was undertaken this afternoon by Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske from Election Services late this afternoon.

The successful candidate drawn was Hinerangi Goodman, who is now elected to Council. Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske says this situation was unprecedented for the Whakatāne District Council in determining its councillors.

“This has been a challenging situation for the candidates and highlights the adage that ‘every vote counts’,” he says. “There is a clear and definite process to follow under the guidance of the Local Electoral Act 2001 when there is a tie, and this has been the only way to determine the successful candidate.”

Mr Ofsoske says the final declaration of results will be printed in the Tuesday, 22 October 2019 edition of the Whakatāne Beacon and will also be made available on the Whakatāne District Council website.

The Inaugural Council meeting of the new triennium will commence with a pōhiri to welcome elected members at 1 pm on Friday, 25 October 2019 at the Whakatāne District Council Civic Centre.